Dashboard folders are one way to categorize your stories and reduce the number of stories visible on the dashboard. Use folders to group stories based on their theme, their stage in your production process, by their collaborators, to mark favourites, or to archive older content.
Folders are available at a Team level. Anyone in a team can create a folder. All members of the team can see, create, and delete folders, and all stories in a folder must be from the same team.
Creating a dashboard folder
If your workspace has multiple teams, you'll first need to select an individual team from the menu on the left of the dashboard:
If your workspace has only one team, or after you have selected a single team, you'll see that the dashboard has a button on the right to add a new folder:
Click the button and you'll be prompted give the new folder a name. Bear in mind that the folder will be seen by all members of the team, whether or not they have stories contained within it, so use a name that will make sense to you and any other team members.
A new empty folder will be added to the dashboard and is visible towards the top of the screen, above any story cards:
Add as many folders as you wish. Folders may be re-named or deleted through the menu that appears when clicking the three-dot button in the top-right of the folder.
Adding stories to folders
Click and drag any story on the dashboard to one of the folders to move it from the main 'un-categorised' view into a folder:
Dragging a story to a folder
The folder will then show a small thumbnail image of the story that it contains to indicate that the folder is not empty.
To move multiple stories into a folder simultaneously, use the checkboxes in the top-right of the story cards. A menu at the bottom of the screen enables several bulk actions, including adding all of the selected stories to a folder:
Accessing the stories in folders
Click any folder on the dashboard and the dashboard will change to show only the stories in the folder (to which you are a collaborator). The top of the screen shows the folder name and a 'back' arrow in order to exit the folder and return to the main dashboard view.
If your workspace contains multiple teams, the "All Teams" view of your dashboard will continue to show all of the stories to which you are a collaborator. This view does not show the folders that have been created within teams. Switch to the view stories from one of the teams in order to see the folders and stories within that team.
Folder management and teams
Be aware that all members of the team see the same folders, regardless of whether or not a folder contains stories on which they have collaborated. If you add only stories to which you are the sole contributor, other members of the team will see 'empty' folders on their dashboard. The other members of your team can add stories to those folders, too.
Multiple dashboard folders, created by different team members
Removing or moving stories from a folder
To move or remove a story from a folder, open the folder and use the story-card menu in the top-right of a story card:
The menu to move or remove a story from a folder
As with adding stories to a folder in bulk, they can be moved or removed from folders the same way. Within a folder, select the checkboxes of multiple story cards, then use the bulk menu at the bottom the screen to choose to move or remove the stories.
Renaming and deleting folders
The three-dot menu in the top-right of dashboard folders enables renaming and deleting of folders:
Renaming a folder affects only its name and not the stories within it. All team members will see the new folder name.
Deleting folders is largely a non-destructive action. Deleting the folder removes the folder itself, and not the stories within it. When a folder is deleted, all of the stories it contained will re-appear on the main dashboard. This prevents any team member from accidentally deleting the stories of other members that they may not have been aware were in a folder.









